Nominations Open and Preliminary Phase, Round 1

March 26, 2011

Nominations are now officially open. Please send your list of up to 15 nominees to executiveotaku AT gmail DOT COM. Nominations will be open until April 9th.

The first of the preliminary ‘exhibition’ matches to decide which of these eight mecha will grace the top of the Sai Mecha site during the full tournament! MECHA FIGHT, START!  EDIT: (Polls close at 11:59pm EST (GMT -5) on Tuesday, 29 March)

RGM-79 vs VF-1 Valkyrie
Scopedog vs Lancelot
GN Flag vs Ingram AV-98
Strike Gundam vs VF-25 Messiah


56 Responses to “Nominations Open and Preliminary Phase, Round 1”

  1. Shinmaru said

    I am backing the Ingram all the way. ALPHONSE~~~~~

  2. ToastCrust said

    As cool as the Ingram is, the GN Flag really represents everything that Sunrise had forgotten about good suit design.

  3. I’m voting against the Lancelot in the exhibition just out of principle. And I am never voting for a GM.

  4. foshizzel said

    Hahaha this is so awesome! Nice idea 🙂

  5. Soulstrider said

    Scopedog all erry way

  6. Shinmaru said

    Just for the sake of being transparent, my votes:

    — VF-1 Valkyrie (so damn sleek)
    — Scopedog (so it doesn’t get its ass kicked as much)
    — Ingram (because Patlabor >>> Gundam 00, and it has a GIANT REVOLVER)
    — VF-25 Messiah (again, the sleekness, and I’m not voting for anything used by Kira Yamato)

    • vf-1: WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK I AM?

      scopedog: Lancelot blows; if it were the Gurren Mk. II however…

      Flag: one of the best grunt mechs in Gundam, though it remains a shitty transformable like all transforming suits in Gundam

      messiah: WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK I AM?

      also, re Strike:

  7. ahelo said

    Lol Mecha moe- I voted for Lancelot cus I knwo that’ll piss of some mecha fans :)).

    • Hahaha, I do look forward to the prospect of some newer designs making the fans of older series fume (even if I tend to like the design philosophy of the older series myself.)

  8. Setsuna F. Seiei said

    The Flag of course… even if it is inferior to a Gundam.

  9. Scamp said

    I showed my lack of mecha-faggyness by going “hey, which one was the RGM-79? Oh right, the actual original Gundam…”. I’m dreadful at remembering these things names.

    Still voted for it. Never liked the Macross mecha that much. It fighter jet design just makes it look like Mr.Nosy

  10. Chevalier said

    VF-1 Valkyrie
    The classic Valkyrie has always been far more interesting to look at than the standard GM.

    Scopedog
    Lancelot was too much of a Gundam for my taste and it wasn’t even my favorite pick from the show (that would be either the Guren Mk. II or Gawain).

    GN Flag
    As much as I liked Patlabor’s design philosophy, Flags in general have a certain sleekness and charm to them.

    VF-25 Messiah
    Once again, I’ve never been too impressed by Gundams and thus I can’t help but favor another Macross design.

  11. Bass said

    Is it wrong for me to vote for the ones I think look badass?

  12. Crusader said

    What no Enact?! Surely the suit of Patrick and Prince Ali deserves some mention? Also what of Mazinger Z? Mazinkaiser? Gekiganger 3? VOLTRON?! Aestavalis?

    Also Cap ships need love too SDF-1, Battle 25, Battle Galaxy, Battle 7, Macross Quarter…

    Also where is G Gundam, Burning Gundam, Shining Gundam, Master Gundam, SHADOW GUNDAM?! I mean come’on Shadow Gundam has an integrated M35 Helmet for crying out loud!

    • You may see those mecha in the full tournament, but you have to nominate them! The current round is just a semi-randomly chosen bunch that I made to test the system, hence the ‘preliminary’ nature of the round. Email me your list of 15 and they’ll have a chance of being in the 32 mecha full tournament.

    • Don’t email. MAKE A NOMINATIONS POST LIKE A MAN.

  13. ahelo said

    Does Chii from Chobits count as mecha? Lol that’d be awesome of she was nominated.

  14. Kuro said

    Voted both Valkyries. Macross mecha designs are awesome.

  15. Myssa said

    I voted for the transforming mecha (and one Scopedog) and called it a day. 😛

  16. Aftershok said

    Not enough love for Evangelion ’round these parts. And I like the old UC Gundam designs as much as the next guy, but the hating on the newer Gundams is reaching oldfag territory ;D

  17. JoeQ said

    Eh, I hope the full tournament won’t be completely dominated by reals and Gundams. Supers need to love too, dammit!

  18. drmchsr0 said

    WHAT DO YOU MEAN KING GAINER ISN’T A SUPER ROBOT IT TOTALLY IS I MEAN IT EVEN DOES THE MONKEY

    As for supers, well…

    I’m torn between DOUBLE JEEGS (which totally should be an option), GaoGaiGar, Shin Mazinger Z, Daitarn 3 and/or BRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYGARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

    THE CHOICE WILL BOIL DOWN TO WHO HAS THE MOST ROCKIN’ OP.

  19. foomafoo said

    nominations eh~… I can only think of the Code Geass ones… we can have them all.. right?

  20. Mushyrulez said

    Man, if he was a mecha I would’ve nominated Megaman 😦

  21. Would Shinichi Mechazawa count as a mecha for the purposes of this tournament?

    • Matt Wells said

      No for two reasons. One, mecha is by definition a pilotable robot, and if said robot is sentient, he should at least be taller than 1 foot high. Two, Mechazawa would automatically win by default, because Mechazawa kicks fucking ass. No other robot on this list would voiced by Emperor Wakamoto, hence Mechazawa is disqualified for hax levels of God tierdom.

Leave a Reply

