NEVAR FOURGET How This Awful Pun is Inversely Proportional to How Awesome the Sai Mecha Semifinals is.

May 26, 2011

The only thing more Four than this Final Four is Four Murasame. These are the robots who prevailed, brought forward by voters who are winners. The losers and their junk buckets are all in the gutter, now littered by spider tanks, fake real robots, shitty mobile suits, and a fat fake Egyptian in drag.

Even so, they are winners to have made it to Sai Mecha, unlike the entire line of Getter Robos with their loser fans unable to get a single one in even if only to be used as toilet paper by some shitty Gundam.

MORAL (FOR THE SECOND TIME): CAMPAIGN IF YOU WANT TO WIN.

At this point, you already know the semi-finalists. There are fewer (polite) things to say. But I will reach into the wells of my burning passion for robot anime and present to you with much fanfare, YOUR SEMI-FINALISTS!

First, battling for the:

acgao gai gar earth side trophy

Evangelion Unit 01 Test Type vs. VF-01

image

Superprototype vs. Mass-produced grunt. Artificial God of Destiny vs. Weapon of the Common Soldier. Sprinter vs. Distance Runner. Specialized Use vs. Variability and Versatility.

~~~

Next, fighting for the:

acguy scopedog colonies side trophy

Zaku-II vs. YF-19

image

Mass-produced grunt vs. Prototype multi-purpose fighter. Ground-bound bruiser vs, Intra-galactic high-flier. Milestone of Mecha History vs. Interesting Footnote of Mecha History. Gundam vs. Macross.

Fans of any of these semi-finalists cannot be swayed to vote for their opponents, but for those on the fence, what you need to consider is what appeals to you more? What embodies the triumph of not only aesthetical design, but of fictional function? What would you enjoy watching all day? What kinds of fights do you enjoy best? Then, see which robot fits better in that kind of fight.

BUT FOR YOU FANBOYS, BRAND IT INTO YOUR BRAINS THESE THREE WORDS:

CAMPAIGN, CAMPAIGN, & CAMPAIGN.

Voting – Polls close at 23:59 EST on 3 June

Earth Side Championship


Colonies Side Championship

Bonus Round

106 Responses to “NEVAR FOURGET How This Awful Pun is Inversely Proportional to How Awesome the Sai Mecha Semifinals is.”

  1. Shinmaru said

    LOL Kirino as Kamille, how appropriate. The only way it could be more appropriate is if she were Katz Kobayashi.

  2. Kuro said

    EVANGELION ALL THE WAY.

  3. kadian1364 said

    OreImo/Zeta Gundam crossover? I am OK with this, if only because it gets Kirino that much closer to a Brightslap.

  4. drmchsr0 said

    HELP ME, I’M DYING, SQUIRTLE.

    OF LAUGHTER.

  5. WhatSht said

    both Macross units because the MacrossFag in me is stronger than the GundamFag in me, never watch evangelion, even if i watch, i still end up voting Macross units

  6. drmchsr0 said

    Yo YF-19, Imma gonna let you get your votes and all, but I think Captain Zaku deserves to win this round.

    I WILL CAMPAIGN LATER.

  7. Xard said

    ETERNAL GLORY FOR MACROSS! VFs GO GO GO GO

    *salute*

    drmchsr0 is cancer killing saimecha for voting against YF-19

  8. LOL drmchsr0 is the cancer that can’t even kill himself

  9. MA
    KU
    ROSU

    MA
    KU
    ROSU

    MAAAAAAAAA
    KUROSU

  10. JoeQ said

    Getterfags being the cancer that is killing the tournament? LOLOLOLOLOL, that is bullshit of the highest order, when it should be crystal clear to anyone (except delusional realfags, of course) that the TRUE cancer that is killing Sai Mecha is the thrice cursed macrossfags conspiracy! Just look at the disgusting results of the previous rounds and tell me me I’m wrong! Tell me the numbers haven’t been shamelessly manipulated to ensure the victory of these ridiculous transformer wannabes! THAT’S RIGHT, I’M CALLING YOU OUT! YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE!

    I’d demand that all results be nullified and the tournament be started over from the scrath, but I think we all know that the rot runs far too deep for that to happen at this point, so fuck it. I’ll cast my votes for TRUTH and FREEDOM and the hope that JUSTICE shall yet prevail, if not this year then the next.

    1. Evangelion-01, because it’s the only halfway decent candidate left in this miserable trainwreck of a tournament.

    2. Man, I wasn’t even vote here, because honestly, fuck these guys and fuck YOU for picking them over all the cool robots. However, watching 08th MS Team made me realize a deep, dark truth about myself: I am, at heart, a Nazi symphatiser, so SIEG ZEON!

    • GETTERFAGS WHINE MOAR THAN ALL THE TEENAGE GUNDAM PILOTS PUT TOGETHER

    • Matt Wells said

      Patience, Brother JoeQ…we shall spend the next year consolidating our power base, uniting our downtrodden bretheren into a unified, devout whole. We shall advocate a single shining Getter against this iniquitous sea of Gundam sodomites and BLASPHEMOUS Arblest fornicaters.

      The peerless Shin Getter will carry our hopes and dreams, and without three other Getter designs splitting the nominations, we shall reach the finals. We still may lose…but we shall silence the jeers of those stinky Relafags, at least momentarily. And that will be triumph enough.

      …Also, considering you and me were pretty much the only vocal Getterfags in this contest, does this make us the Cancer Killing Saimecha? I shall meditate on this…

      • drmchsr0 said

        NO.

        THAT IS ME.

        I AM THE CANCER KILLING SAIMECHA.

      • Reid said

        I also advocated for the inclusion of Getter Robo in this tournament. It’s really a travesty that it didn’t even make it in. However, I will help you lads do whatever it takes to make sure Shin Getter gets a shot next year!

      • Matt Wells said

        Reid? JoeQ? I love you guys. No homo. Remember, the main reason we didn’t get a single Getter as a finalist is because the vote was crucially split between three main designs: Shin, Black, and New. JoeQ voted for pretty much every Getter BUT G, while I just voted for New.

        I say we campaign that every single Getter fan who frequents this tournament votes for Shin. We need a single representative, and Shin is enough of a crowd pleaser to appeal to most fans. Plus, it forms the basis for the ultra machine/universe rapinator. To all Getter fans: nominate Shin exclusively next year, and we may have a shot at reaching the finals next year.

      • Reid said

        I think this is a good idea. Sadly, I’m one of those who split the vote…I nominated Black Getter šŸ˜¦ Sorry dudes.

      • Matt Wells said

        Not at all my friend. The point is, we SHOULD have had at least one Getter in the tournament. The sheer awesome quantity of designs was what divided us, and divided we are weak!

        If we unite our three hearts as one, then Justice will have 100x fold power…punishing evil, (and gloating Macrossfags) GETTER BEAMUU! Get, Get, Geeeetter, GET-TER ROBO!!!

      • JoeQ said

        It’s all Getter. I’ll be nominating the original, Black, Shin and New just like I did this year and hope that at least one of them will stick.

    • TLDR

      TLDR EVERYWHERE

      signed, an evafag.

  11. Ressy said

    Vote Macross, if only for superior music.
    Though the power of nostalgia is strong in this one.

  12. drmchsr0 said

    YES, I MANIPULATED THE DATA.

    YES, I MADE SURE THE GETTERS NEVER GOT IN.

    I AM THE CANCER KILLING SAIGETTER.

  13. drmchsr0 said

    Totally unrelated to me being the cancer that ruis SaiMecha, but I love the awards.

    They’re so friggen adorable.

  14. mshaydown said

    STRIKE FREEDOM IS THE SOURCE OF ALL EVIL (just because)

  15. Matt Wells said

    TOO MANY DICKS ON THE DANCEFLOOR. AND BY DICKS I MEAN VALKYRIES. AND BY FLOOR I MEAN THE MOUTH OF THIS CONTEST’S ORGANISERS.

    That said, you see what happens when we put your precious Macross above everything else? You see what we are left with?! Space Nazis, Freudian emo cannibal Super Robots, ONE GENUINE CLASSIC and the blandest Valkyrie ever designed. I HOPE YOU ANIMALS ARE PROUD OF YOURSELVES.

    Nostalgia fag all the way here, I went VF-1 and Zaku II. Perhaps actually watching Eva will leave me better disposed to its representative mecha. Thank you so much executiveotaku for doing this, I ready my campaign for next year. Thank you Ghostlightning for forever associating Big O and Giant Robo in my mind with acts of gay sex. Your death shall not be a pretty one…

    The trophies were both adorable and acted as salt rubbed in the wounds of my failed dreams. There’s always next year for the King of the Braves! And was anyone else disapointed by the lack of the option of “MOE IS THE CANCER KILLING SAI-MECHA”? Moe did far more to ruin this contest than Strike Freedom ever did, as the Tachikomas can attest to.

  16. Chronolynx said

    Macross all the way. There can be no substitute.

    • d3v said

      A vote for Macross means that given the chance, you would want to be a proper pilot, doing proper piloting in a proper mecha. A vote for EVA means that you would rather be a spineless brat with daddy issues fapping off to your unconscious wingmates face.

  17. HATERS STILL FAILING, ALL YOU FAKE OLDFAGS START YOUR OWN FAKE OLDFAG BLOG

    “WE TRY HARD TO REMEMBER GETTER (SINCE WE SAW IT WAY BACK 3 YEARS AGO)”

    • Matt Wells said

      When WAS the last time you saw a Getter series old man? šŸ™‚

      • Shin vs Neo a few months ago, t’was nothing special… a few laughs here and there.

      • Matt Wells said

        Watch New Getter Robo whenever you can. It features Buddhist Gods as Final Bosses, and Time Travel/Steampunk Heian era Japan. And while you’re at it, read the Shin Getter and Getter Robo Go mangas. Both of them blow any Getter anime out of the water.

        Shin VS. Neo was worth it for Texas Mack alone. Well, that and Ryoma punching Dinosaurs to death with his bare hands.

      • Tronulax said

        New Getter was awesome. Shin vs. Neo too. Ken Ishikawa manly men amongst men.

  18. Scamp said

    I quite like the idea of the Zaku winning Saimecha. The gruntiest of grunts winning out over every other main character piloted super bot. The People win out over the elites.

    That all said…

    GO EVA UNIT 01!!!

    • Zaku II is a main character piloted MS in arguably the most transcendent Gundam OVA: 0080 War in the Pocket.

    • Matt Wells said

      If by “The People” you mean the faceless Stormtrooper of a Nazi-inspired military dicatorship, controlled at the whims of the racist Space elites against the richer and weaker Earth elites…then yes, the Zaku is a symbol of the little guy and the working man. Oh, and terrorism and nerve gassing neutral civillians.

      (Yes I still voted for it, but I’m not exactly happy that I had to.)

    • Scamp said

      Guys, guys! Remember it is not the pilot that makes the mecha. Do not place the poor Zaku under the same bracket as its pilots. It is a mere grunt being pushed into servitude by its Nazi owners.

      SaiPilot is the cancer etc.

      • drmchsr0 said

        SCREW THE GRUNT TALK.

        CAPTAIN ZAKU IS A REAL CHARACTER.

      • Matt Wells said

        CEASE YOUR NAZI PROPAGANDA FICTIONAL MASCOTS, YOU FILTHY ZEKE LOVER.

      • Matt Wells said

        CEASE WITH YOUR NAZI PROPAGANDA FICTIONAL MASCOTS, YOU FILTHY ZEKE LOVER.

      • Reid said

        The Zeon are more like the Imperial Japanese Army/Navy than the Nazis. The animators from “War in the Pocket” on just played up the German thing thereafter since, well, words in German sound guttural, brutal and mean. I realize that Gihren was glad to be compared to Hitler (by his own pops, no less!).

      • Matt Wells said

        Which culture was the biggest influence on Imperial Japan? Imperial Germany. Which culture was the biggest influence on Nazi Germany? Imperial Germany. Zeon = Space Nazis; back then and here and now, right down to the exceedingly poor leadership, snazzy uniforms and obsession with Super Weapons! I rest my case.

      • Reid said

        sorry dude. I’m just not doing well with these posts lately. It’s not like I’m defending the Nazis just because I root for the Zekes.
        On a related note, I think Ghost hates me for bringing up the silliness of the valkyries triple-change feature.

      • Matt Wells said

        Not at all chum. You’re the one trying to make coherent and rational posts in a war of pure flaming hatefaggery. Defending Zeon is not equal to defending the Nazis, so don’t think any worse of yourself for that, I certainly don’t.

        As a historian, I just have a tendency to violently discredit and destroy the theories of my peers, dragging their ideas through the mud. It’s a mark of respect for you as an equal (and a sign of my utter lack of social graces)! And yes, three-mode transformation in a real robot is silly. Ghostie knows this.

    • Kuro said

      You voted well, fellow comrade.

  19. jGLZa said

    MACROSS, duh!
    WINNING!

  20. pp said

    GO Eva & Zaku !

  21. Anya said

    MACROSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    WILL YOU LOVE ME TOMORROW?

    Seriously, the EVA is one FUGLY SONUVABITCH

  22. Wanna feel Love? Vote Valkyrie, spreading the love since the 80s.

  23. Reid said

    After my champion, Sinanju, suffered defeat in the last round I took it upon myself to get better (re)acquainted with the Macross franchise and after an incredibly time-consuming marathon of every show and movie except Macross 7 (I’m not man enough yet, sorry) I feel confident in saying that the VF-1 is indeed one of the pinnacles of all things mecha. I doubted (and maybe even hated) for a while, but when I just said “screw it, accept the apparent frivolity of a three-mode transformation because it’s actually really cool even if you don’t understand it” then I came to understand how truly awesome the Valkyries are. There is no way that the EVA-01 deserves to win this round, much less the whole shebang.

    Gotta go with Zaku II in the other showdown. YF-19 isn’t as perfect as the VF-1 and I’m a Gundam man at heart, so blame it on the misfortune of my birth.

    This tournament deserves to be decided by the common man in a contest of HARD WORK AND GUTS and not between Hideaki Anno’s Freudian slips of Mommy-fixation in robotic form or an “interesting side-note.”

  24. Turambar said

    Valkyries. Valkyries all the mother fucking way. Even if they suck oh so much in SRW@3 (how can itano circus missile attacks not be all?!!!!)

  25. umbralunaris said

    I’M GAR FOR ACGAOGAIGAR

    Went vf1&zakuII, but i feel a little guilty for not supporting isamu’s planeRobotThingy

  26. Better vote for a very practical mecha.

  27. Caraniel said

    Wah! Conflicted!

    Ended up going for the Zaku II as my inner Gundam fangirl is stronger than my inner Macross fangirl, and the Zaku II is pretty damn iconic (great to see a grunt unit make it so far too).

    Also ended up siding with the EVA-01 over the Valkyrie – hardest decision of the tournament!! I blame the fact the EVA is purple……purple is my favourite colour, if the Valkyrie had a purple paint-job I’d have voted for it in a heartbeat!

  28. d3v said

    GO MACROSS!

    ALL VF FINAL!!!

  29. VF-01, Zaku.
    There is no cancer killing Saimmecha. Only moooooorons.

    • Matt Wells said

      Also Realfags. REALFAGS WHO HATE DECENT SUPER ROBOTS.

      • Reid said

        “And so they buried Mazinkaiser SKL, the godly, demonic, invincible tower of pure mothafuggin METAL \m/, GaoGaiGar, the shape of pure courage and King of Brave Men, and Gunbuster, the bifurcated God of Zakus, HARD WORK AND GUTS.” – The None Iller-iad

      • Inorite.
        Also since the Super Robot trophy is named after GaoGaiGar, it means he’s THE BEST and we ALL ACKNOWLEDGE IT.
        PERFECT LOGIC.

  30. […] sisĀ­ter who IĀ scared away, being the big and frightĀ­enĀ­ing anime blogĀ­ger thatĀ IĀ am.Also, VOTE FOR EVA UNIT 01!A GradeLalala blankĀ spaceB GradeB+ Steins;GateEpisĀ­odesĀ 4ā€“8The longer Steins;Gate goes on, the […]

  31. DonQuigleone said

    It’s got to be VF-1 Valkyrie vs. Zaku II next round. It would be so classy if it was the battle of the Macross and Gundam Grunt mechs.

    • Reid said

      Maybe next year there should be two tournaments: one each for reals and supers with the winners facing off at the end!

  32. […] OH MY GAOGAIGAR IT’S CAPTAIN ZAKU, THE MOST BADASS ZAKU EVER. […]

  33. VF/YF all the wayyyyyyyyy. Prepare fold jump into the FINALS!

  34. ian said

    MACROSS FOREVAR!!!

  35. AzarelHikaru said

    Screw the Macrosses. They keep getting hit when I use them in SRW Z2. Even in jet form. T_T

  36. Emperor J said

    Barely got my vote in on time there. I had to give the VF-19 my only vote of the round. I didn’t see my name listed in the special vote so I abstained on that. Sad that it could potentially be my final vote of this whole enterprise.

  37. […] either franchise as strongly who have any sense at all, should vote for the Variable Fighter. The Sai Mecha tournament has never presented an easier choice between two exemplary […]

  38. Tronulax said

    I love the VF1 too much to vote against it. Macross all the way.

Leave a Reply

